Uncategorized

Happiness

What drives your happiness?

This is something I have been thinking about (maybe too much) recently.

I have been reading Fearne Cotton’s new book called Happy, and it’s brilliant. 

We are all so caught up in ourselves, going at a pace that is uncontrollable, are we happy with this? 

I’m a mum, a working mum, so I know what it is like to go at full speed and forget about you. So quick to think I’m not good enough and that I’m not doing enough. It has made me ill.  Blood tests have shown, in a nut shell, I’m not looking after myself. I’m tired all the time with a miserable look on my face and bored of hearing my own whinging voice. Time to change. 

What makes me happy?  First of all struggled with this question but came up with the below

  • When my family are happy
  • When things are going right at work
  • The house is tidy

Then I stopped and realised my happiness comes from making others happy. Why? Why should I bust a gut to the point of illness to make others happy. I re wrote the list:

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Walking
  • Gardening
  • Yoga nidra 

I’ve decided whist work and family time is important I need to spend at least half an hour having some me time – guilt free. Guilt is something I truly suffer from. It’s all in my head. Maybe I’m just too nice and need to start being selfish. If things don’t happen oh well, and I still happy?

I shall be doing a review on Fearne’s book Happy very soon. 

Leave a Reply

