Uncategorized, Writing

We did it!

I grew up swimming, to be fair my nan was a swimming teacher so I didn’t really have a choice!

Today was a huge day. We did it, we went swimming!

Normally that wouldn’t be a huge deal as swimming is a pretty normal activity but since my accident I’ve been dreading it. Lifting a slippery wet Ruby out of the pool was my worst nightmare. I even spoke to my Physio and doctors about not being able to take her swimming. It upset me and really affected my confidence. And Don’t get me started on the softplay issue! I’m not that brave yet!

But today, thanks to supportive friends, we did it. Apart from a few tears (from Ruby not me) I would call it a success. My arms are killing me now and Ruby is zonked but now I have the confidence and some great tips thanks to the friend and her little one who came with us I feel I can do it again. 

Another huge bit of confidence came was whilst Ruby wasn’t that happy in the water I didn’t stress out over her tears. It’s taken me along time to get the courage and give it a go and I’m so glad we did!

Leave a comment